Worldwide Artist Blog Hop and four questions

Let us just imagine I am posting from Papeete, Tahiti, French Polynesia where it is still Monday, 14 August 2014!

http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/france/papeete

Thanks for your invite Andrea!

http://kokopellidesign.blogspot.de/2014/08/worldwide-artist-blog-hop-and-four.html

https://www.facebook.com/kokopellidesign2

I met Andrea on a Facebook Crochet Group I belong to. I love her crochet doilies with fine yarn. She also creates other works of art in different mediums.

Before I answer the four questions I thought this would also be the ideal opportunity to show you a few of my completed rugs. It is also interesting to see where in the world they hopped to!

 

This one was a gift to my mother-in-law who lives in Pretoria, South Africa. I got the pattern from here.

http://makemydaycreative.com/2014/05/23/passion-flower-doily/

image

This pink one is residing at a local self catering accommodation

http://www.mysandals.co.za/

https://www.facebook.com/SandalsSelfCateringInPaternoster

image

The blue granny square rug you will find at our local Pizzeria. Best Pizzas here on the West Coast!

http://www.blikkie.co.za/restaurant.html

image

image

image

This cream doily rug will end up in Ireland!

image

image

image

image

This purple and grey doily is very special

I packed 2 x 1 kg balls of t-shirt yarn in my suitcase when we travelled to Italy two years ago. Then crocheted the rug whilst there and gave it to our landlady’s three year old daughter.

This is where we stayed.

http://amalfi-coast-accommodation.com/casa-bianca

image

 

Question 1. Why do I do what I do?

As we were driving to Paternoster from Vredenburg the other day, it was drizzling a bit. We are nearing the end of our winter. The road is picturesque with flowers starting to bloom and sheep and cows in the green fields next to the road. I was looking in my rear view mirror and saw a little rainbow forming in the slipstream at the back of the car. The words “a rainbow in my slipstream” came to mind, and got me thinking. I wonder if there is maybe a song with that words? Also, how wonderful it would be if we all leave a rainbow in our slipstream? In interacting with people: whether it is a kind word; gesture or a crocheted gift?

 

Why do I crochet? I like all the giving there is in crochet.

 

It gives you joy and relaxation

 

You can crochet a present and give it to someone

 

You can sell your crochet work and someone gives you money!

 

Crochet gives you a thrill when you do yarn bombing!

 

And when friends know you very well, they give you beautiful yarn when it’s your birthday! Yay!

 

Question 2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I don’t think my work differs from others. I do like to take special photographs of my work. And I am very lucky to live in the beautiful Paternoster where there is plenty awesome scenery for that perfect photo.

Question 3. How does my creative process work?

Haphazardly and disorganised and random!

That is all I can say about my creative process! Hahaha!

Sometimes I would/should be working on a rug order. Then we run out of cat food. That means a visit to my LYS. (pet shop is right next to the yarn shop!)

Then there would be new yarn screaming at me from the shelves. And back home, the ordered rug would be forgotten and the new yarn just have to be tried out!

Question 4. What am I working on now?

Ok! I will not put down the whole list! It would be toooooo long!

Two half circle rugs

image

A sort of free form heart shaped rug

image

A t-shirt yarn basket for a client

image

A dainty white doily t-shirt yarn rug that I started many many months ago

image

A crazy colourful summer top. Just because I love crocheting with Elle Premier 4 ply and the colours are so nice

image

I started this basket last year. Also Elle Premier Cotton 4 ply. Mixing all the colours with twine. I’m still wondering whether it will end up as a basket or maybe a handbag?

image

 

Etc. Etc. Etc.

Etc. – can also stand for Eat, Travel, Crochet! What a lovely combination of things to enjoy!

All these WIP’s are going to have to wait a bit this week. We are starting preparations for Anya’s Birthday Party on Sunday. She will be four years on Monday! She wants another Tom and Jerry cake. She does not want to order one. She insists we bake it ourselves!

 

And now I would like to invite two other creative friends to join us in this World Blog Hop. They will post on Monday, 25 August 2014

Christelle is the founder of the South African Facebook Crochet group “Ons Hekel”. She always has a few interesting crochet projects in the making.

http://www.haak-en-stekie.blogspot.com/

Liezl whom I’ve also met through “Ons Hekel”. She dabbles in lots of different arty things besides crochet.

http://myheartdreaming.blogspot.com/

9 thoughts on “Worldwide Artist Blog Hop and four questions

  1. Loved reading the blog this morning!! So inspired by all the beautiful photos posted especially the small cream doilies. Would like to crochet them for my ” onthou kombers” that I am doing at the moment.

  2. Pingback: World Wide Artist Bloghop - Crochet - Look At What I Made

  3. Hi Anneke – eks absoluut mal oor jou projekte. Ek wil baie graag met jou in verbinding tree en vra oor die kleure tyarn wat beskikbaar is. Eks opsoek NA n ligte coral kleur wat ek in n doily mat wil gebruik vir n baba kamer saam met grys. Ek sal dit baie waardeer indien jy my n epos kan stuur sodat ons kan kommunikeer. Dnki ook vir al die oulike patrone wat jy share. Mariane

  4. Pingback: World Wide Artist Blog Hop | Crochet | WIPs 'N Chains

Leave a Reply

